Her Take: A Taste of Italy in Toronto

After wandering past what looked like a quaint, yet bustling restaurant on Queen Street West numerous times, Kyle and I finally decided to stop drooling at the pizza spotted through glass windows and try some for ourselves. Terroni did not disappoint.

Image

Source: The Star

Image

Source: Terroni

Image

Source: BlogTO

Image

Source: My Life is Food

Image

Source: Top Choice Magazine

This is the most authentic restaurant I’ve been to in Toronto, and its not even located in what is supposed to be the most Italian neighborhood of all: Little Italy. The atmosphere took me back to my time spent couch surfing near Venice, where a family was nice enough to house me for the night and cook a traditional home-cooked Italian meal. The mother, father, sister, brother and I all sat around a large oak table, drinking wine and stuffing our faces with pizza and pasta. The pizza was fresh with a thin crust, topped with prosciutto and not overflowing with mozzarella cheese like most North American versions. The house filled with conversation and laughter, and I felt right at home tucked inside the open-concept dining room overlooking a vast green Italian landscape. Replace the view with a few streetcars, and the similarities between Terroni and my couch-surfing experience are uncanny.

Kyle and I both shared a pasta and pizza. I can’t remember exactly the menu item, but this shouldn’t make a difference as I’m sure everything on hand is made with the same diligence and eye for quality. For desert my all-time favorite was the chocolate cake oozing with a soft center and surrounded by a creamy vanilla sauce that makes my mouth water at the thought. The wine we had was crap, so don’t be cheap and be sure to order a step above the $40 bottle. I would also recommend calling to make a reservation, otherwise you’re looking at about a half hour wait or more on weekends.

Authored by Jamie Munro

See what Kyle thought: His Take

Location: 720 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON

Phone: (416) 504-1992

Terroni - Queen on Urbanspoon

One response to “Her Take: A Taste of Italy in Toronto

  1. Pingback: His Take: The Most Authentic Italian Food in Toronto | coupleofyuppies·

Leave a Reply

